County Derry 

We are always ready welcome volunteers for the exciting WorldGenWeb project. One of the openings is as a County Coordinator for this county. If you have an interest in helping us develope this valuable resource by volunteering to serve as the County Coordinator, please contact the Country Coordinator.


Londonderry Geography

Londonderry (county, Northern Ireland),  also Derry, former county, Ulster Province, north Northern Ireland; Londonderry was the county town. Londonderry comprised an area that included the Sperrin Mountains in the south and a coastal plateau on Lough Foyle and the Atlantic Ocean in the north. The region has many sites that indicate occupation by prehistoric people. It was taken by the English in 1609; Protestant emigrants from Scotland and England settled here, and in 1613 the county was granted a charter. County Londonderry ceased to exist as an administrative unit in 1973.

The main towns in Londonderry include Londonderry, Coleraine, Limavady, Dungiven, Maghera and Magherafelt. The capital is Londonderry (city).

See also, a map of  Civil Parishes of Londonderry .

Genealogy and History Resources

The Heritage Centre is located in Derry. Please visit their website for more information on their services.

Derry Genealogy Centre Heritage Library
14 Bishop Street
Derry BT48 6PW
Northern Ireland

Londonderry GENUKI

Message Boards

Queries and Data Submission   Submit a Query or Date for your lost Derry County, Ireland ancestor.

Mailing List(s)

Londonderry Mailing List -

  Clicking on one of the shortcut links below should work, but if your browser doesn't understand them, try these manual instructions: to join NIR-DERRY-L, send mail to  with the single word subscribe in the message subject and body. To join NIR-DERRY-D, do the same thing with

You will find other mailing lists of interest to Northern Ireland by Clicking Here.

On-Line Records

Return to DerryGenWeb

© County DerryGenWeb Project

Northern Ireland    WGW Button